The Hypocrisy of Vegetarians

I know I’m going to get virtually beaten to death by all the vegetarians around the world, but this is something that I’ve always wanted to talk about. I’ve had a couple of arguments about this, where I was made to shut up even before I had a chance to prove my point, and since then, I decided to keep my opinions to myself and follow my old rule of live and let live – a little principle I follow where I stay strong with my own ideas but won’t question why others think, well, otherwise. It’s simply because I don’t care what others think of a certain matter that I have a different opinion about, and also because the last thing I like to do is argue.

There are basically two things I’d like to talk about here – vegetarians and pacifist hypocrites.

I’m never the one to fret about what others think, but a couple things happened lately that triggered my annoyance towards people who talk incessantly about how much they care about animals and don’t give a damn about the trees that are cut down right in front of their eyes.

The thing that triggered this was the little mass tree cutting incident that happened in my office premise and to say I was disappointed to see the lovely trees that I so loved to walk under being chopped down is an understatement. It was a torture to walk by that place everyday and watch people walk by it like nothing happened.

So that made me wonder, had it been a bunch of dogs that were chopped and thrown aside in the place of those trees, would people have just walked by it like it was nothing? Wouldn’t they be horrified at the least and question who did such a devilish act?  So, why ignore it when it’s the trees that are, may I say, killed and thrown aside? Isn’t that being a hypocrite?

I do care about animals and absolutely do not tolerate animal cruelty, but I care about all living beings and not just the ones that can walk and talk; and I happen to eat non vegetarian food.

Confuzzled? Let me explain.

I’ve noticed this huge biased thinking with all these people who care so much about animal cruelty but really don’t care about things like deforestation or mindless chopping of trees. If you care so much about animal cruelty, why tolerate cruelty towards trees? Is that because they can’t walk and talk that you forget they have a life and feel pain? Because they can’t scream when they’re hurt? And this brings me back to my second agenda – the hypocritical vegetarians.

Before I begin, let me state this bitter fact about mankind – It’s impossible for humans to survive without hurting other living beings. (No matter how you think about it, we still kill something or someone to feed ourselves)

Since I hate arguments, I’ve clashed with only a couple of vegetarians about this, and all of them had the same way of thinking – they don’t realize that by eating plants, they are still killing life, no matter how much they stay away from meat and eggs. It has been scientifically proven (please reads the works of Jagadish Chandra Bose for more proof) that plants, in fact, do feel pain. They may not have a brain to register the pain impulse, but everything in nature doesn’t work the same way.

Just because we can’t produce our own food, it’s absurd to say that it’s impossible for plants to produce food. Likewise, just because plants feel touch and pain in a different way, you can’t say that they don’t feel at all. The scientist who proved it was no fool. So when you are already killing a living being and feeding on it, it’s absolutely absurd to say that you don’t want to eat meat because you don’t want to hurt other living beings because you’re that much compassionate. If you do, you’re a hypocrite, since your actions are already contradicting your words.

Now if you think you only eat a certain part of the plant and not all of it, let me enlighten you with the fact that plants are chopped, uprooted and replanted while growing them. You are killing them in the process of feeding on them.

And even if they don’t feel pain, it doesn’t rule out the fact that you’re already killing a living being to feed yourself. Even if they don’t feel pain, it doesn’t justify the act of killing.

If you think you’re being caring and compassionate to living beings by staying vegetarian or participating in all of those PETA activities, you’re just trying to feel good about yourself.

*Takes a deep breath*

~Phew

So, that’s what I feel about all the vegetarians out there.

P.S. – I do have a heart and I do help stray animals now and then, but I’d never call myself a compassionate vegetarian who cares about the lives of other living beings, because I’m already a part of the mass killing by eating veggies.

-Thank you for putting up with the rant-

18 responses to “The Hypocrisy of Vegetarians

  1. Darkmoon, I am what people call a “spiritual teacher”. This topic comes up in nearly all my workshops. I will provide you the following as support…

    1) Plants DO feel pain, and can suffer as much as any animal. Just because one does not know something to be true, does not mean it isn’t, it just mean you don’t KNOW it. Knowledge is experiential. I have experienced the celery screaming when it is harvested, and certain other trees and plants in pain and agony.

    2) Humans are not naturally vegetarians, we are designed as omnivores. The fact that we can exist as vegetarians or fruitarians does not make it spiritually superior. There are “breatharians” who do not eat solid food, and even yogis who eat and drink NOTHING at all, I have spent time with both of these.

    3) Animals are not SUPERIOR to plants. No animal even comes close to having the lifespan of many trees and plants. And until you communicate with say, an old redwood or sequoia, you really don’t know how “intelligent” plants are.

    4) But the real clincher is, without plants, there would be NO life on this planet to speak of…. so much for human superiority.

    All that REALLY matters, is how much you appreciate the sacrifice of any other “being” to support your existence in this, the illusion…. we ALL come to this planet to die.

    • Thank you so much for taking time to write such an elaborate comment to support my perspective on all this.. 🙂 You’re right. Most people discriminate among species depending on their shape, size or their way of living. As long as it has life it deserves to be respected the same way all the other living beings are.

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thank you!

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Regards!

  4. It’s enormously useful for people to draw a line somewhere and say that everything beyond that doesn’t count, so we can be as vile as we like to anyone beyond the line. In the first century it was arguments over whether or not women had souls; in the 1800s white people argued over whether blacks were entitled to the same rights as themselves, and now we ask ourselves whether terrorists are entitled to the same civil protections that all human beings enjoy.

    In all these cases we are doing essentially the same thing, but it never seems that way to society; the judgments of the present are always assumed better than the judgments of the past.

    Incidentally, PETA has a terrible track record with animals, having a disturbing tendency to kill animals that fall into its care. In Virginia in 2006, PETA killed 97% of animals in its care rather than finding them new homes.

    • oh wow.. doubting whether women have soul or not is a bit too much O_O and since I’m from India, people here have a habit of worshiping everything in nature.. anyway..

      the bottomline of my blog is that people need to treat all living things the same way regardless of the form they are in..

      P.S. that PETA article is a shocker O__O

  5. I was a hardline PETA activist a while back, but then I did a lot of thinking and changed my viewpoint (which i won’t put down here as it would just create arguments which I hate as well xD)
    The whole point of nature conservation rests on the base that there should be Balance in the Ecology. Killing animals for food is justifiable. What you said was completely right, if someone’s making this whole show of being nice to animals, they should be nice to trees as well and as that is not possible (show me you can starve counter arguers!), it’s perfectly alright to eat what you wish to, as long as the pain caused to the being consumed is minimal. (sounds gross?).
    I’m so glad someone wrote a post on this already! I was never able to put it into words..as I was against animals for food a while back ^__^” Gets difficult to accept that your own views have changed..

    +1

  6. Nice post.. I do agree!
    I’m a vegetarian and I’m an animal lover. I choose not to eat non vegetarian not because it’s cruel towards animals. I bet that’s a VERY contradictory statement I just passed. But I totally understand what you feel in the post.

    I’ve tried eating non-veg though, and I choose not to eat it because it doesn’t suit my tastes.

    I was a hardline PETA activist a while back, but then I did a lot of thinking and changed my viewpoint (which i won’t put down here as it would just create arguments which I hate as well xD)
    The whole point of nature conservation rests on the base that there should be Balance in the Ecology. Killing animals for food is justifiable. What you said was completely right, if someone’s making this whole show of being nice to animals, they should be nice to trees as well and as that is not possible (show me you can starve counter arguers!), it’s perfectly alright to eat what you wish to, as long as the pain caused to the being consumed is minimal. (sounds gross?).
    I’m so glad someone wrote a post on this already! I was never able to put it into words..as I was against animals for food a while back ^__^” Gets difficult to accept that your own views have changed..

    Anyhow, it’s only natural that some people completely disagree and as it is with most arguments, we just have to accept that the other person thinks differently.

    • well yeah, I understand if you don’t eat it cuz of religious constraints or just don’t feel comfortable eating it (like i’m not comfortable watching yaoi but have nothing against homos) but I don’t like it when people say they don’t eat meat cuz they care about lives….. but now that I think about it, after I’ve calmed down from that incident, I guess it’s just a matter of opinion..

  7. How is it that just anyone can publish a blog and get as popular as this? Its not like youve said anything incredibly impressive more like youve painted a quite picture through an issue that you know nothing about! I dont want to sound mean, right here. But do you genuinely think that you can get away with adding some quite pictures and not truly say something?

    • lolwut? who’s popular? and this is my personal blog that I have reserved to speak out MY opinions… if you don’t like what i’m saying, please be more clear with what you’re trying to say and what you don’t like about what I said…

      Thanks for reading and replying.. I appreciate your patience..

    • I feel that a blog is someplace you can express what you think, I don’t think anyone makes a blog to get popular (if they do, it’s just lame).

      I also feel this post IS impressive. 🙂 As long as what someone wants to convey is expressed properly, it is impressive. As that’s a pretty hard thing to do actually.

      Just my opinion~ 🙂

  8. Before i start, lemme tell you that i am a vegetarian. I do eat eggs; this makes me a ‘lacto ova vegetarian’.

    I am sensitive to the world around me and i do care when i see a dog getting pelted with stones or a tree getting chopped off. I swear i do. But i really do not understand the logic of eating animals.

    Man has been eating animals since the beginning and he had to, according to the Darwinian theory of survival of the fittest. But then he learnt to farm. To grow things of his own. And now, we can survive with just that and we do not need animals to be our means of survival.

    There are many non vegetarians i have seen who give bullshit excuses of how meat is good for health and how it gives them proteins and stuff. Bah! Veg food has everything that is needed but still, people will do anything to justify what they want to do. Most of the vegetarians are the same. They aren’t vegetarians by free will. Most are vegetarians because of religious purposes.

    I do not eat non veg just cuz i do not feel the need to. No other reason necessary for me.

    It’s high time we agreed that we humans do whatever we want to do and then try to make it sound like we are doing it for a reason. We are just a selfish race.

    And i agree that joining up PETA or Greenpeace doesn’t mean jack if you do not truly feel for things around you. But we are a selfish race and we’ll be faded out very soon. We are puny when compared to the planet and the earth has seen worse in it’s life time.

    Hope you consider this like a discussion, not an argument!

    • wow! thanks for taking up your time to write all that. Just want to point out that I did mention how eating plants is no different, since they have life to and just like animals, they do feel pain, even though they can’t express it. That’s what I wanted to talk about, that people don’t realize that by eating plants, they are still eating living beings, just like animals.

      Well, sorry if it was offending O_O I just want people to get the fact that they are already doing the act of killing by eating plants.

      And yeah, I agree with some of those last points.

Leave a Reply

